Teutonic Numerology

Teutonic is a word that was once used to denote a specific Germanic tribe, but now encompasses a heritage that includes much of Northern Europe including Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, and Iceland. This is mainly due to the travels of the Teutonic people and the spread of their wisdom.

Teutonic numerology is different from western numerology and has a different spiritual meaning of numbers in that counting worked on a base 12 system. Therefor the concept of perfect numbers is shifted to 12 and its multiples. In Teutonic numerology the numbers have specific meanings that usually correspond with rune magic.

One – represents the prime source and is the end of the synthesizing process

Two – represents duality, twins and active balance

Three – One of the first magical numbers of the Teutonic people. Three represents action and reaction. It represents the synthesis of opposites.

Four – this is the number of stability, completeness, and the wholeness of Earth. It bears reference to the four dwarves who forged Freya’s necklace. It is also associated with the sun.

Five – The Germanic week was only five days long. Five is a number of active order and control

Six – It is another magical number, representing the balance of two and the synthesis of three, but is not mentioned much in Teutonic mythology

Seven – This number is not mentioned much in the myths, but some believe it can be a number of death and can be used for contact with other worlds.

Eight – Represents the completeness of the Heavens and the otherworlds. It is the number of travel between the worlds being associated with Sleipnir. It is a number of wholeness. There are 3 sets of 8 runes that make up the elder futhark.

Nine – This is the greatest magical number. Odhinn hangs nine nights on the tree Yggdrasil. There are also nine worlds in Teutonic belief. It is a number of power and direction.

Ten and Eleven have very little meaning in Teutonic numerology

Twelve – Another number of great wholeness and being. There are 12 Gods and 12 Goddesses and 12 great halls of Asgard. Twelve is a number of earthly power

Thirteen – This is a number of wisdom and magical power.

Spiritual Meaning Of Numbers

Numerology is a term for the ancient study of numbers and how they relate to our lives. It is a philosophy that has many influences that are thousands of years old. There are three main forms of numerology in use today. They are Western – Pythagorean, Chaldean, and Hebrew-Kabbalah. They are different in specific ways. The Chaldean and Western systems are based on numerical interpretations of a letters position in the alphabet. The Kabbalah method is derived from a letters sound. The Western and Kabbalah methods use the numbers 1-9 and the Chaldean method only uses the numbers 1- 8, as the number 9 is held to have sacred significance.

The Chaldean number system arose in the Persian Gulf area in what used to be called Babylonia. In the Chaldean system the letters of the alphabet are assigned as follows: (9 is not used)

1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

A  B  C  D  E  U  O  F

I  K  G  M  H  V  Z  P

J  R  L  T  N  W

Q     S     X


Kabbalah or Qabala Numerology arose out of Jewish mysticism. In this practice, it is believed that the Torah -the first books of the Hebrew Bible, contained hidden meanings. It was the belief that these hidden meanings could be interpreted using Kabbalah numerology and the true holy teachings could be understood. It was originally structured around the Hebrew alphabet which only has 22 letters. It has since been modified twice for the Greek alphabet which contains 24 letters and for the Roman alphabet which contains 26. In the Kabbalah method, unlike the Chaldean and Western systems, only the letters of the name are used and they are not combined with the birth-date.

The Western or Pythagorean numerology has roots to the Greek philosopher and mathematician Pythagoras. He felt as though the universe could be expressed numerically. The Western system assigns the letters of the alphabet as follows:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
The Ancient Chinese had an ancient text known as the I Ching -“Book Of Changes” or “Classic of Changes”. The book is based on a symbol system that is used  much like numerology to understand natural and personal events. It was well established during the Zhou Dynasty and many believe that Confucius is responsible for later additions.
The Ancient Egyptians believed that certain numbers had spiritual significance, especially the numbers 2, 3, 4, 7 . These concepts were included in the “Book of the Dead”.
The Mayans were also very accomplished mathematicians and had strong religious views on the relationship between nature and numbers. The Mayans used a base 20 system as opposed to a base ten system.
There is frequent mention of numbers being significant in the Bible. In Christianity, the God entity symbolized the number one. The Lord God is referred to as “The One”. Other numbers with a common occurrence in the Bible are 2, 3, 4, 7, 12, and 40.
In modern numerology there are concepts such as: Life Path Number or Soul number, personality number or destiny number and personal year and personal month. These are the concepts that are used when a psychic reading by numbers is given.