Wicca Denominations and Witchcraft Traditions

Today, traditional witchcraft is usually referring to a particular sect or tradition of witchcraft of European origin. There are many different traditions of witchcraft that are not Wicca and there are even many different traditions or denominations of Wicca. They all have similar core beliefs, but can be very different. There are many more denominations than what is written below, but here are some popular denominations of Wicca and a few witchcraft traditions:

Alexandrian Wicca – Founded by Alex Sanders and his wife Maxine, Alexandrian Wicca became a popular tradition during the resurgence of modern Paganism. Heavily influenced by Gardner and his tradition, Alexandrian Wicca uses a degree system and has ties to ceremonial magic systems.

Celtic Wicca – Based upon old Celtic and Druidic practices, and ritual Gardnerian design. The emphasis is placed heavily upon Celtic deities, the elements, nature and the magic of trees.

Dianic Tradition- Feminist based craft movement that itself has different variations and traditions. Named after Diana, virgin goddess of the hunt; a stem of the Old Religion which has all-female members.

Eclectic Wicca- Basically a loosely based tradition which uses any practices of other paths and incorporates them into their own.

Gardnerian Wica– Named after Dr. Gerald Gardner its founder and is one of the first traditions to make itself known to the public in the mid 1950’s in England. Gardner was an initiate of a Celtic coven. Raymond Buckland and his wife started it in the United States.

Norse Tradition-Has roots to northern Europe and Germany. Deities are from the Norse Pantheon the Vanir and Aesir which include Odin, Freya, Thor, Tyr and many more.

PectiWita – Developed in Scotland and is attuned to nature and solar and lunar changes

Seax – Wica Founded in 1973 by Raymond Buckland, this tradition incorporates Saxon lore.

Strega Tradition– Stregheria is the old Italian word for Witchcraft and has roots in ancient Etruscan religion